Director’s Staff Awards recognize the difference makers

The greatest compliment you can give someone is that he or she made a difference, said Director of Education David Hansen at an awards celebration for staff on May 24nd that recognized outstanding dedication to students and staff.

“That ‘making a difference’ for someone is because, for a period of time, you entered their life,” he suggested. “And that’s very much what this recognition is about – your colleagues and co-workers identifying that, in your everyday walk of life, you have, through words or actions, made a difference.”

The Director’s Awards are presented annually to 1-2 staff from each school who promote Catholic values through example, exhibit excellence in their work, achieve exceptional results in their duties, give generously of their time, and serve as role models and sources of inspiration to their colleagues. More tellingly, the award recipients are chosen not by their principal or site manager, but by their co-workers, colleagues and friends.

This year’s ceremony recognized 80 staff members from all job categories and all areas of the board.

In words of greeting, Chairperson Pat Daly commended Director of Education David Hansen for upholding the tradition of the Director’s Awards initiated many years ago to recognize staff for outstanding dedication and service.

“Obviously, you’ve been selected by your colleagues because you’ve gone way beyond the call of duty in support of students, and as well, as a sign of your commitment to the gift of publicly funded Catholic education,” he congratulated the recipients.

He added that, through their public recognition, they serve as “shining examples” to their colleagues and school/workplace communities.

“There’s no question in my mind that the journey of evangelization today, more than ever, needs witnesses and people who inspire us to follow Christ’s way,” said Daly.

Quoting Bishop Robert Baron who recently wrote, “I’m convinced at this moment we need good arguments, but I’m more convinced that we need saints,” Daly called the award recipients “those shining examples of saints in our midst.” He added that through their goodness and tremendous work, they not only serve our students, but serve as sources of inspiration to other staff in our schools.

“So, for all that, I congratulate you, I wish you all of God’s blessings, and I thank you.”

Welcoming the Director’s Award recipients to the reception and ceremony in their honour, Director of Education David Hansen said the event is an opportunity to thank staff for the work they do not only in their schools, but for the system.

“From where I get to sit, and I’m very fortunate that I can go wherever I want in the board, I get a broad view of the goodness of this board,” said Hansen. “These awards are a chance for me and senior administration to be able to say ‘thank you.’

More importantly, he added, the recipients were selected for these awards not by the director or members of senior administration, but by their colleagues.

“These are truly your awards. We know what your colleagues see in you, even though you don’t always see it in yourself, and we know how deserving you are of this award.”

Inviting each of the recipients to centrestage to collect an award, Hansen invoked the words of the “Baird” – William Shakespeare: “I can no other answer make but thanks, and thanks and ever thanks.”

Award Recipients 2017

Serafina Abbruzzese – Sacred Heart of Jesus CES
Patricia Akers – St. Brigid CES
Jane Allega – Our Lady of Peace CES
Rose Aplidgiotis – St. Jean de Brébeuf CSS
Danila Aref – Nicholas Mancini Centre
Laura Beaudoin – Our Lady of Mt. Carmel CES
Norma Brunetti – Our Lady of the Assumption CES
Karen Brush – St. Mary CERC
Lee Busnardo-DiFeo – St. Ann (Hamilton) CES
Alisha Caiella – St. Thomas the Apostle CES
Daniela Caltagirone – Immaculate Heart of Mary CES
Rebecca Canzio – Guardian Angels CES
Lisa Carey-Urban – St. Bernadette CES
Anna Carter – Immaculate Conception CES
Kathy Ciapanna – St. Joseph CES
Lisa Cipolla – St. Lawrence CES
Matthew Clark – St. Joachim CES
Amber Connely – Sts. Peter & Paul CES
Steven Cordeiro – St. Matthew CES
Milli Daddato – Nicholas Mancini Centre
Marisa Deluca – St. Francis Xavier CES
Christopher DeStephanis – St. Thomas More CSS
Melissa Dickson – St. Eugene CES
Trina DiDomenico – Holy Name of Jesus CES
Paula Dillon-Gerow – St. Charles Continuing Education Centre
Darlene DiSalvia – St. Margaret Mary CES
Francesca DiTrapani – St. Marguerite d’Youville CES
Taylor Drysdale – Thomas Mahony Building
Linda Earl – Regina Mundi CES
Scott Edworthy – Bishop Ryan CSS
Katie Egan – Guardian Angels CES
Andrew Filice – St. Paul CES
Gregory Flis – St. Jean de Brébeuf CSS
Anita Fortino – Bishop Tonnos CSS
Laura Fortino – St. Anthony Daniel CES
Denise Fraser – Holy Name of Mary CES
Erin Galan – St. Michael CES
Maria Galluzzo – St. John the Baptist CES
Maddalyn Giannasi – St. Mark CES
Vanda Goldsmith – Corpus Christi CES
Paul Gordon – Canadian Martyrs CES
Maria Gorska-Malinowska – Our Lady of Lourdes CES
Andrea Gris – St. Clare of Assisi CES
Mary Grunda – St. Michael CES
Rose Guglielmo – Blessed Sacrament CES
Mary Jane Guibao – St. Thérèse of Lisieux
Jennifer Huffman – St. David CES
Phil Hunks – St. Mary CSS
Dante Ieluzzi – St. James the Apostle CES
Andrea Leone – St. Thomas More CSS
Jennifer Licop – St. Thomas More CSS
Jim Mauro – St. David CES
Kathy McHarge – St. Mary CSS
Mara Medeiros – St. Augustine CES
Allison Mulholland – St. Teresa of Avila CES
Jill Murray – Cardinal Newman CSS
Evelin Niemiec – Sts. Peter & Paul CES
Philip Oliveira – Annunciation of Our Lord
Maria Luisa Pena – St. Vincent de Paul CES
Laura Pinter – St. Charles Continuing Education Centre
Henriette Pinto – St. Mary CERC
Antony Randall – Annunciation of Our Lord
Emilia Rastelli – Fr. Kennedy CEC
Cyndi Rimac – St. Gabriel CES
Gelsie Riverso-Casella – Bishop Tonnos CSS
Renato Rossini – St. Ann (Ancaster) CES
Halina Salciccioli – Cardinal Newman CSS
Tina Sbrissa – St. Martin of Tours CES
Sue Schwetz – Fr. Kennedy CEC
Steve Scime – Bishop Ryan CSS
Carmelina Serrani – St. Patrick CES
Joanna Shamon – St. John Paul II CES
Marina Simpson – St. Kateri Tekakwitha CES
Rachel Simpson – St. Thérèse of Lisieux
Mariessa Startek – St. Matthew CES
Paul Tam – St. Gabriel CES
Jeff Toole – Cathedral High School
Laura Traina – St. Teresa of Calcutta CES
Maria Trotta – St. Agnes CES
Carolyn Varrasso – St. Luke CES

Award recipient from St. Charles Continuing Education Centres Paula Dillon-Gerow with Director of Education David Hansen.
Award recipient from St. Charles Continuing Education Centres Paula Dillon-Gerow with Director of Education David Hansen.

Director of Education David Hansen presents Laura Pinter with a Director's Award for Outstanding Dedication to Students and Staff.
Director of Education David Hansen presents Laura Pinter with a Director's Award for Outstanding Dedication to Students and Staff.